[HCIL]

Visualizing Personal Histories: a Workshop

July 21-22, 1997, Monday-Tuesday

Human-Computer Interaction Laboratory
University of Maryland at College Park

Room 2120 - A.V. Williams building


FINAL PROGRAM

Opening Speech: Information Visualization: The Next Frontier
Nahum Gershon, MITRE
    <gershon@mwunix.mitre.org>

An Empirical Study Comparing LifeLines with Tabular Format
Anne Rose, University of Maryland
    <rose@cs.umd.edu>
    Related site: Juvenile Justice project

Using LifeLines for Medical Records: Data Structure Support
Catherine Plaisant, University of Maryland
    <plaisant@cs.umd.edu>
    Related site: HCIL Medical record project

Providing a usable summary for health care records:
Lessons from inpatient and outpatient settings
John Karat, IBM Research
    <jkarat@watson.ibm.com>

Summarizing Medical Records
Seth Powsner, Yale University
    <Seth.Powsner@Yale.Edu>

Task-oriented visual design: automated visual presentation design for patient medical records
Michelle Zhou, Columbia University
    <zhou@cs.columbia.edu>

Priestley's Lives to Lifes Lines: With Tom's veggies as an example
Howard Wainer, Educational Testing Service
    <hwainer@ets.org>

Characterizing the content and the presentation of timelines
Vijay Kumar Texas A& M University
    <vijayk@bush.cs.tamu.edu>

PadWebMap: A Zooming WWW History Map
Ben Bederson, University of New Mexico
    <bederson@cs.unm.edu>
    Related site: Pad++

The Worker Profile: Visualizing the Worker Profile at the Quebec
Worker Compensation Board
Daniel Lafreniere, GESPRO Group, Quebec
    <lafrenid@gespro.com>

Visualizing Student Histories in HyperCourseware
Kent L. Norman, University of Maryland
    <kent_norman@mail.lap.umd.edu>
    Related site: HyperCourseware

Overview and clustering of text-based personal narratives
Sharon Laskowski, National Institute for Standards and Technology
    <sharon@coastline.ncsl.nist.gov>
    Related site: Visualization and Virtual Reality Group at NIST

We Make Memories: A revealing personal biography
Abbe Don (In video)
    <abbe@abbedon.com>
    Related site: abbe don interactive, inc

Presenting Historical Biographies: The Web-Bio of David Seymour
Whitney Quesenbery, Cognetics Corp
    <whitneyq@cognetics.com>
Ben Shneiderman, University of Maryland
    <ben@cs.umd.edu>
    Related site: Cognetics Corp. and CHIM: the Photographies of David Seymour

-----------------------------------
Additional Attendees:

Luc Beaudoin, CRIM
    <Luc.Beaudoin@crim.ca>
Henry Emurian, University of Maryland-Baltimore County
    <emurian@umbc.edu>
Steve "Fleck" Fleckenstein, Morino Institute
    <fleck@morino.org>
Laura Goldhar, (visiting from Blair high school) University of Maryland at College Park
    <laura@cs.umd.edu>
Daniel Heller, University of Maryland at College Park
    <djheller@cs.umd.edu>
Jia Li, University of Maryland at College Park
    <jiali@cs.umd.edu>
John F. Mareda, Triconix Research
    <jfmared@swcp.com>
Rich Mushlin, IBM Research
    < mushlin@watson.ibm.com>
Fran Witzel, Morino Institute
    <fwitzel@morino.org>


OVERVIEW         ARRANGEMENTS

[HCIL Home Page]