Alum Vipin Kumar named 2016 IEEE Computer Society Sidney Fernbach Award Recipient

Professor Vipin Kumar (PhD, '82), Regents Professor at the University of Minnesota, and the William Norris Endowed Chair in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering, is the 2016 recipient of the IEEE Computer Society Sidney Fernbach Award, one of IEEE Computer Society's most prestigious awards. This award honors Kumar's outstanding contributions in the application of high-performance computers using innovative approaches.  Currently, Kumar's research interests include data mining, high-performance computing, and their applications in Climate/Ecosystems and Biomedical domains. Kumar received the award at the Supercomputer Conference 2016 (SC 2016) on Tuesday, November 15th in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Kumar is a Fellow of the ACM, IEEE and AAAS. He has received the Distinguished Alumnus Award from the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Roorkee in 2013 and he also recieved the Distinguished Alumnus Award from the Computer Science Department, University of Maryland College Park (2009). Kumar's foundational research in data mining and high performance computing has also been honored by the ACM SIGKDD 2012 Innovation Award, which is the highest award for technical excellence in the field of Knowledge Discovery and Data Mining (KDD).

Emeritus Professor Laveen Kanal advised Kumar's dissertation entitled "A Unified Approach to Problem Solving Search Procedures."



The Department welcomes comments, suggestions and corrections.  Send email to editor [at] cs [dot] umd [dot] edu.